Please wait...
Click below to view a different image.

1 2 3 Play

About Me

Species Dog 
Breed Beagle/Terrier 
Age 4 years 1 month 18 days 
Gender Female 
Color Brown/Black 
Spayed/Neutered  
Declawed No 
No Dogs  
No Cats  
No Small Kids  
Location Adoptable dogs 
Intake Date 10/27/2018 
Adoption Price $211.20 

CHIKA

Yahoo, my name is Chika; that has a Japanese origin meaning "wisdom" and I think you would be wise to consider adding me to your family. I came to WCHS as a stray and I am now in the market for a new forever home. I am a phenomenal gal but I do need to be your one and only. I do not like other dogs very much so that means no dog buddy for me and no dog parks. Cats drive me a little crazy and I get way overstimulated and have no clue when they try and correct me. All of that means I need to be the only four-legged member of your family. Any children in my home should be 15 years or older because I am sensitive and get nervous around fast movements and lots of activity. I get a little irritated and uncomfortable if people are all grabby with me and sometimes younger children do not appreciate that. I may have a spectacular set of ears but I get anxious when people try and touch them or my mouth - it just seems a bit forward to me. Once I get to know you, I am sure we will be the best of friends and spend lots of time together with cuddles and scratches; I just need you to be patient and take things slow and gentle. I imagine spending glorious hours laying next to you while we enjoy quiet activities. I enjoy going on walks to help keep my girlish 42-pound figure and love all the sights and smells of the great outdoors. If people come around me while I am enjoying a meal or some other valuable resource, I take note and become a tad guarded since I do not know what your plans are. I do not get mad, just aware. One trick that may help me become more comfortable while I am eating is to toss a few yummy treats into my bowl while you walk by; soon I will be looking forward to your brief visits during mealtime. I am smart and think I would enjoy training and other canine activities like nose-work games or other mental challenges. I may sound like I have a lot of idiosyncrasies but with a little work and patience I am sure we can be magnificent together. I promise to be loyal, full of love and your BFF. Stop by to meet me in person, take a few moments to get to know me and prepare to fall in love.


Adopt and Protect this pet with the 24PetWatch Gift of Pet Insurance. Visit us at www.24PetWatch.com or call 1-877-291-1524.