Please wait...
Click below to view a different image.

1 2 3 Play

About Me

Species Dog 
Breed Hound/Retriever, Labrador 
Age 9 months 10 days 
Gender Male 
Color Black/Brown 
Spayed/Neutered  
Declawed No 
No Dogs  
No Cats  
No Small Kids  
Location Adoptable dogs 
Intake Date 5/26/2017 
Adoption Price $316.80 

DUDLEY

Hey there, my name is Dudley and I am once again looking for a home to call my own. I first came to WCHS from Fox Valley Humane Association when I was just a wee thing. I found a great family and figured I hit the jack pot. I was learning all sorts of things like being comfortable in a crate when I was alone (I am still not terribly comfortable and will bark for hours) and also how to ask to go outside to potty. But as sometimes happens with life, things changed and we needed to make some adjustments. My family took on some new responsibilities and they knew it would not be possible to provide the training and guidance I need at this point in my life. So the hard decision was made to bring me back to the shelter to find another family. Everyone was upset about the situation, but we all knew it was for the best because I need a family with the time and dedication to provide me with daily structured exercise, routine and training. Otherwise I will find my own (naughty) forms of fun. I was then adopted out a second time, only to find that I can not share my home politely with another dog. I love my human family SOOO much that I will "guard" them from other dogs in my household, so no other dogs for me in my home. I could have a dog pal or two outside only but they need to be tolerant and playful. You see, I love to play, but I play kind of rough and can be a bit pushy; I also need to work on my dog communication skills, so they have to be patient. I cannot live with any cats; I am absolutely relentless and have no concept of their correction or what it means. Any children in my new home should be 6 years or older. My puppy exuberance and lack of manners makes me jump up on people; I also think grabbing pant legs is awesome fun. I know with proper training I can out-grow these behaviors, but I need help from you to keep me on the right path. The folks at the shelter have some great tips that you can use to help me improve these things. The key is to help me remain calm and be calm before receiving anything. I am also hoping you can help me slow down at meal time; I don't mind people being around my food bowl, but I am an extremely enthusiastic eater. I have phenomenal manners with valuable resources like raw hides. I am such a good boy and will bring it to you if asked; I would much rather hang out with you than munch on a goodie. I am excellent about handling and I am always ready to take advantage of a good cuddle or scratch. I sometimes get a little mouthy when you touch my paws or tail but as soon as I am reminded with a "yelp" I stop immediately; I am a quick study. I am an active and good-natured guy who wants to please. I am only about 41 pounds right now but I do have a bit more growing to do. I would love a nice long walk with you every day and to take part in other activities that would burn some energy. I have a very nice brain too so I would like mental exercises to keep me from getting bored. I bet my nose would make me a champion nose-work candidate. If you are looking for a delightful and astounding character, your search is over - just stop by and meet me in person.


Adopt and Protect this pet with the 24PetWatch Gift of Pet Insurance. Visit us at www.24PetWatch.com or call 1-877-291-1524.