Please wait...
Click below to view a different image.

1 2 3 Play

About Me

Species Dog 
Breed Terrier, American Pit Bull 
Age 6 years 4 months 4 days 
Gender Male 
Color Tan/White 
Spayed/Neutered  
Declawed No 
No Cats  
No Small Kids  
Location Adoptable dogs 
Intake Date 7/21/2017 
Adoption Price $158.40 

CHEWIE

Howdy - my name is Chewie. I am a big lovable guy, just like the character in Star Wars. This is my second time at WCHS looking for a forever home so I know the routine and I just know the perfect match is out there looking for me. Originally I was a stray and waited patiently a long time for a family to call my own. I thought things were going well and enjoyed my family and my new adopted sister. But I am a total social butterfly and have a wanderlust spirit so every time I see another dog I just have to go say "hi" even if it meant leaving my yard. My family included kids and I absolutely loved that but they had trouble remembering to be careful with open doors. The opportunist that I am, I would run outside and then they had to round me up. I think they were concerned I would get lost or hurt out on my own so they brought me back to the shelter to find a new place. I did learn a lot of great things with the family like how to take treats gently and I am proud to say I am 100% house-trained and know how to ask to go potty outside. I must find a home with a female dog buddy because being alone makes me anxious. Having another dog around makes me feel more secure. And she must be a fun-loving gal because I am a playful high-spirited guy. We should eat separately though to avoid any misunderstandings. I also use a "slow-down" bowl to help me pace myself at mealtime. I like eating with a special bowl because it helps keep me entertained and gives me a chance to use my brain. I do enjoy a good meal and have good manners with people around me at mealtime. I also have fabulous manners with valuable resources like hot-dog treats. At the shelter, they play a game where they throw hot dogs on the floor and then move them all over with their hands - kind of like the shell game without the shells. I am not really sure what they are doing because they don't actually take them, they just move them about. The gentleman that I am, I patiently wait and when given the OK, I thoroughly enjoy them. Although my house-mate must be a female, I do enjoy playing with all sorts of dogs, even boys, but I can get quite excited and a bit overwhelming. One thing I know for sure is that I cannot live in a home with any cats. They are way too much fun to torment - that is a ton of fun for me, but not so much for the cat. Any children in my new home should be 6 years or older because I am quite playful and sometimes forget the size of my body. I weigh about 63 pounds and when I start romping, I could knock over a little tyke. I love to go on long walks and I love to play fetch. I am also very athletic and could easily climb or jump a fence if I was left unsupervised in the back yard. I am absolutely brilliant and already know sit, stay, lay down and come. I also know what OK means. I really enjoy mental activities and training to keep my brain exercised. I love car rides and adore cuddling with people. When I meet people I break into my happy tap dance. I am looking for a family that will be as committed to me as I will be to them. You will find I am eager to please, loyal and intelligent. Come on by to meet me in person and I am sure you will find that I am a charming and debonair guy with rugged good looks and a winning personality.



Adopt and Protect this pet with the 24PetWatch Gift of Pet Insurance. Visit us at www.24PetWatch.com or call 1-877-291-1524.